I’m back…in more ways than one

Photo:  Back on the Trails – Crab Orchard, Tennessee

That’s right, I am back.  I was finally able to return to the hiking trails after 3 1/2 months.  The photo above was taken on the Black Mountain segment of the Cumberland Trail near Crab Orchard, Tennessee.  Back in February of this year, I injured my knee while hiking in Montgomery Bell State Park here in Tennessee.  The diagnosis was a torn ACL and meniscus which required arthroscopic knee surgery and lots of patience during the recovery.  It felt good to be back but I am terribly out of shape.  I need to work my way back into shape as I would like to tackle some more difficult trails as the year progresses.  Wish me luck.

I am also back in another sense.  It has been over two weeks since I have posted anything on this blog.  Lack of new content is probably the biggest reason.  However, there have been other things fighting for a piece of my schedule lately.  Most notably, my job search continues.  This has undoubtedly been the most frustrating period of my life.  I cannot put it into words.  Some days it just about breaks me down.  However, just when I think I am at my lowest, something comes along to lift me up a little.

One of these lifts is another reason for my lack of posting.  The rock ‘n roll band I was in almost twenty years ago reunited recently.  We almost immediately began rehearsals for a gig that we successfully completed last Saturday.  We had a blast and it has been such a great pick-me-up.  When I hold that bass in my hands I do not think about being unemployed or where my next paycheck will come from.  I spend the other 165 hours each week worrying about those things so needless to say, it has become quite the welcomed distraction.

I am going to try to keep posting from time to time as my schedule allows.  This blog has continued far longer that I probably expected it to.  However, I want it to continue as a creative outlet.  Also, as my job search continues to sputter along, I am giving more and more consideration to trying to make my photography more than just a hobby.  If that happens, this blog could take on a new importance.  Stay tuned on that front.

Thank all of you out there that continue to stop by from time to time to see what I am doing photographically.  I will try to keep making it worth your while.

Darrell

Leave a Reply

