The best songwriter you’ve probably never heard of

Photo:  Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit – Grimey’s Record Shop, Nashville Tennessee – February 16, 2009  (in the photo:  left-right, Jason Isbell and Jimbo Hart)

Please bear with me here as I try a little something different on my blog.  I am not trying to sell anything here.  Well, maybe I am.  Here’s the deal, When I find something that I feel strongly enough about, I like to share it with my friends.  I have something that I want to share with you and that is the music of Jason Isbell and his band the 400 Unit.

On Monday February 16th at 6:00 pm,  I had the privilege of being able to attend the in-store performance by Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit at Grimey’s Record Shop in Nashville, Tennessee.  Jason and the Unit’s new album was released the following day.  The performance was amazing.  I am so thankful that Jason and Grimey’s made this intimate performance possible.  If you have ever been to Grimey’s, you know that this place is not much bigger than the living room in your house.  This meant that no one in the place was more than 25 feet away from the “stage” area.  I think every music fan deserves the opportunity to see their favorite artist perform in this type of setting.  Sadly, few get the opportunity.  Kudos to Jason and Grimey’s for making this possible.

Jason and guitarist Browan Lollar played acoustic guitars so we got to hear the songs in a little more raw form than they take on the album.  I always like it when I get something a little different from a live performance.  Also, Jason and the band stuck around after the performance to sign posters, CDs and whatever else was put in front of them.  I found Jason to be very down to earth and approachable.  I get the feeling he would still be this way even if he made it big.  He seems like that kind of authentic person.  The best part about the performance was that the admission was free.  That is great for an unemployed person like myself.

The new album is quite possibly the best album that I have ever owned.  I can listen to it from end to end without skipping a song.  I cannot remember the last time I could say that.  In fact, I am not sure I have ever been able to say that before now.  I know those are strong words but that is how I feel.  If you like rock ‘n roll, you need to hear this record.  As the title of this blog post states, Jason is probably the best songwriter you’ve never heard of.  Don’t just take my word for it though, check it out for yourself.  You can sample the album at the iTunes store but I am sure Jason would appreciate it if you would buy it from him directly here.

Thanks for allowing me to share this with you.  If you would like to see more photos from the performance, please visit my gallery website here.

3 comments on “The best songwriter you’ve probably never heard of”

  1. […] X Business added an interesting post today on The best songwriter you’ve probably never heard ofHere’s a small reading…that I want to share with you and that is the Bmusic/B of Jason Isbell and … part about the performance was that the admission was Bfree/B.  That […]

  2. Good post….and I’m really glad you decided to do something a little different. I had a similar opportunity to see Victor Wooten (bass) and JD Blair (drums) in the same type setting a few years ago and it was a musical experience unlike any I’ve had.

    BTW, love the photo too!!!

  3. great photo. I love being turned on to artists I’ve never heard of. I will definitely be checking them out


Leave a Reply

