Thanks for the memories

By: Darrell Klein

Feb 12 2008

Category: Art, Image, photography

2 Comments

Photo: Thanks for 22 – Jackson, Tennessee

I am not even going to try to pretend that I know what it is like to live through a tornado. However, after seeing the resulting damage from the tornado that hit Jackson, Tennessee on February 5, 2008, I feel I have a better appreciation of the struggle that a person deals with when a catastrophic event occurs in their life.

Imagine this, you wake up one morning and the possibility that you could lose most everything you own and the possibility that you will decide to leave a house and a neighborhood that you have called home for 22 years is the farthest thing from your mind. This is exactly what happened to the people that lived in this house. I just cannot come to grips with what it must be like to go through something like this.

I met the owners of this home as I was touring the damaged neighborhood and I can tell you that their spirits were quite high considering the circumstances. I am just not sure I would be able to handle a situation like this as well as they did. However, I imagine they might have said the same thing just a few days before. People never cease to amaze me with how they are able to handle situations like this. However, I suspect they are getting a great deal of help from above.

2 comments on “Thanks for the memories”

  1. Incredible….

    thanks for the story

  2. Thank you for taking the time to read it.


Leave a Reply

