Piles of people’s lives

By: Darrell Klein

Feb 10 2008

Category: Art, Image, photography

Leave a comment

Photo: Destruction #2 – Jackson, Tennessee

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, my wife and I went to Jackson, Tennessee this past weekend to visit her parents. We had already planned the visit before their neighborhood was hit by a tornado. This was the same tornado that hit Union University only seconds before. Luckily, their house was spared much significant damage.

The photo above shows a pile of rubble that was a common site in front of the homes that were hardest hit by the tornado. As I looked at these piles, I could not help but think how these piles contained so much that was so important to these people’s lives. Now don’t get me wrong, much of what was in these piles was simply “stuff” or possessions. The possessions themselves were not what was important. It was the fact that these possessions were part of the lives of these people. They used these possessions to make memories with family and friends.

Now these things must be tossed aside never to be seen again. I suppose they will have to rely on the memories that they have stored in their minds since the physical items will soon disappear. I cannot imagine what it must be like to come to this realization and I hope I never have to. When you see devastation like this up close and personal for the first time like I did this past weekend, it will make you re-examine your thoughts regarding the “stuff” in your life. By all means, enjoy that with which you were blessed but don’t rely on those things to hold your memories forever. They can be reduced to a pile of rubble in a matter of seconds.

Leave a Reply

