A blessing and a curse

By: Darrell Klein

Sep 08 2007

Category: Art, Creativity, Image, photography

Leave a comment

Photo: Ball and Pin – Missoula, Montana

I captured the above photo after dinner the other night. I saw this sign on my way into the restaurant and I knew that I had to take a few snaps of it. Since I picked photography back up as a hobby, my photographic awareness has grown exponentially. I find that this can be both a blessing and a curse.

The blessing of this photographic awareness is that it is the source of most of my images. I am the “hunter/gatherer” type of photographer. In order to find the images I shoot, I must have a keen sense of awareness. Some days I can attain a higher level of awareness than others. Not surprisingly, my level of awareness has a direct effect on how successful I am on any given day.

The curse of photographic awareness comes when my awareness level is high but the time is not right for shooting images. The time can be wrong for any number of reasons. The weather, lighting, family obligations or not having a camera with me at the time can turn what I consider a gift into a curse. It is especially difficult when the timing is bad while I am somewhere I may never come back to in my life. When this happens, I try to focus on the images I am able to capture instead of dwelling on the ones that got away. This is not easy but I do still consider myself lucky to be able to go to the places I have been and to have captured the images I have seen. I get the most enjoyment out of sharing them with others. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

