Tag, I’m it

By: Darrell Klein

Jul 08 2007

Category: Art, blogging, Image, photography

1 Comment

Photo: County Road – Bucksnort, TN

I was recently tagged by Anita Morrell to blog about some interesting facts about myself. I will let you readers be the judge as to whether or not these facts are interesting or not. Here they are:

1. I once worked part-time for the National Hockey League. I was an off-ice official for the Nashville Predators franchise. I held the position of Commercial Coordinator. That is a fancy way of saying that I called the TV timeouts. It was a great experience that I will never forget. Each home game, I had a seat right at ice level between the P.A. announcer and the visitors’ penalty box.

2. I once served as the crew chief for a driver in the Nascar Weekly Racing Series at the Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway. I was probably not particularly qualified to be the crew chief. I sort of became the leader by default. I learned a lot about a sport that I already loved as I helped build two racecars from the ground up.

3. I was the bass player in a rock band named Rokkenhorse shortly after High School. We had loads of fun but didn’t make it very far. We played several shows around the Nashville area and it is something that I am so glad I was a part of.

4. I once worked part-time as the assistant to a mobile disc-jockey during High School and a little beyond. This was an interesting job to say the least. We got to meet a lot of interesting people in the course of our work. It is fun watching people dance after they have had a dose or two of the “liquid courage”.

5. I still enjoy playing guitar and writing songs. It seems that almost everyone in Nashville plays some sort of instrument. I suppose I am no exception. I have recorded a few instrumental songs on the computer and hope to put them together as an “album” someday.

6. I had the opportunity to drive a Nascar style racecar at the Bristol Motor Speedway a few years back. It was an unbelievable experience and gave me a whole new appreciation for the men and women that drive at that track. The experience was provided by the Fast Track Driving Experience.

Well, there you have it. You now know a little more about me. Hopefully you don’t think any less of me. :) Thank you for your continued support of my blog.
County Road

One comment on “Tag, I’m it”

  1. Thanks for playing Darrell! Our family owns a guitar shop and I live near the speedway!!! Thanks for sharing. Keep those great photos coming.


Leave a Reply

