Drawn in

By: Darrell Klein

Mar 25 2007

Category: Art, Creativity, Image, photography

4 Comments

Photo:  Decay #1 – Louisville, KY

Today’s photo is from a section of Louisville, KY near the waterfront of the Ohio River.  This area has apparently been on the decline for some time and there are several abandoned buildings that have suffered from significant urban decay.

As regular visitors to my blog know, decay is a frequent theme for my choice for subject matter.  I am just drawn to it.  I think part of it stems from the fact that I know these subjects could very well be gone tomorrow and I want to preserve them in my memory before they are gone forever.  Also, the buildings of yesteryear have much more character in my eyes than the buildings of today.  I often wonder if the urban and suburban ruins of the future will be of interest to me creatively and photographically.  I suppose only time will tell.

4 comments on “Drawn in”

  1. there is definetly a “uniqness” to old buildings. New structures all have the same look to than and just don’t have the character. You’re right to get shots now..they could be gone tomorrow

  2. The colours in that shot are beautiful.

  3. Thank you for the compliment emmsy.

  4. beautiful photo, and it remidns me of egypt… btw it’s an enteresting blog, keep it up.


Leave a Reply

