Some good advice

By: Darrell Klein

Mar 18 2007

Category: Art, Image, photography

3 Comments

Photo:  This Old House #1 – Nashville, TN

This Old House #2

Photo:  This Old House #2 – Nashville, TN

A good friend of mine from work recently gave me some good advice.  He suggested that I go out to the greenway trail here in Nashville to shoot some pictures of some old abandoned structures that are accessible from the trail.  I had seen these structures before while on the greenway and even had a camera with me at the time.  I don’t know why but I did not bother to stop for any photos.

We talked about his experience entering the structures and I started to have visions of photographs that I have seen in my mind for quite a while but just did not know where I was going to shoot them.  Most old structures have restricted access but these are right on the trail and are open to anyone that dares to enter.  Man was I rewarded for taking his advice.  I got several good snaps in today including the two images in this post.  I hope you enjoy them.  I plan to return next weekend to see if I can find something I missed the first time.

If you are like me, you have people that know that you are a photographer and make suggestions to you all the time about places or things you should shoot.  In the past, I have been known to dismiss some of those suggestions.  However, after today, I might need to reconsider.  Your friends won’t usually steer you wrong you know.  Thanks E.

3 comments on “Some good advice”

  1. awesome shots! abandoned houses can make for a very powerful photo. A friend and I are heading to a house that burnt up a long time ago this weekend. I’m very much looking forward to it

  2. These are beautiful. I love the light and textures. Abandoned buildings have so much of both.

  3. What lovely shots. I only wish I knew some abandoned buildings like that.


Leave a Reply

