Cheap Camera

By: Darrell Klein

Mar 08 2007

Category: Art, photography

3 Comments

Photo:  Doors Open – Nashville, TN

I have been experimenting lately with some of those cheap keychain digital cameras to see if I could get any good images out of one.  I had a couple of variations of the same camera before and you can see some of the images here.  I am trying out a new keychain camera and so far, I like some of the images I am getting.  The image above is from this new $20 camera and I think it turned out well. 

These “toy” cameras are the digital equivalent to the Holga cameras that are popular in certain artistic circles.  Maybe one day certain images from these keychain cameras will be looked upon as fondly as the Holga images are today.  However, that may not be the case at all.  I am going to continue to experiment to see what I can produce with this inexpensive little wonder.  My only complaint thus far is that it eats batteries like you wouldn’t believe.

By the way, no, this camera does not take purple pictures.  That part was done by me in Photoshop for effect. 

3 comments on “Cheap Camera”

  1. I like this a lot! The purple hue really lends itself to the mysticism created by the cheapness of the camera.
    I must admit, I am a huge fan of images taken by photographers who know how to use cheap cameras well. They become so real, and i can really connect to them.

  2. Thanks for the kind words Robert. I don’t know what it is but I seem to get more satisfaction when I can coax a good image out of such a cheap camera.

  3. […] decided that I had better not post another photo from the cheap camera today.  My wife will start to wonder why she has let me spend so much money on my […]


Leave a Reply

