Open Door Policy

By: Darrell Klein

Mar 05 2007

Category: Art, photography

3 Comments

Photo:  My Door Is Always Open – Nashville, TN

As promised in yesterday’s post, here is another photo from my productive outing yesterday afternoon.  I found this cool abandoned building yesterday that produced several opportunities.  I must say that this place was quite creepy.  It was in a not so good part of town and there were some interesting characters around.  In fact, as I was leaving, a car pulled into the drive, apparently to turn around.  However, I started to wonder and began a brisk walk back to my vehicle.

In a previous post, I discussed the weird looks that I often get while I am out photographing.  I often wonder how much of this is me being self-conscious and how much is just people being curious.  As mentioned previously, I think much of it is due to my “interesting” and somewhat unusual choices of subject matter.  I am going to make every effort to view this as a blessing instead of a curse.

Have any of you photographers out there had to deal with the issue of weird looks as you go about your photography?  If so, I would love to hear your stories and how you handled yourself.

3 comments on “Open Door Policy”

  1. Cool location. I can imagine this place would be even more photogenic during a really foggy afternoon…would give it a great mood. I challenge you to go back during a fog!!

    And yeah, I get weird looks to. Especially since I have a preference for shooting people in urban environments – people don’t always take kindly to that.

    Haha when I was in Venice, I captured a great shot of a young boy running through pigeons in St Mark’s Square. You should have seen the look on his parents face – they wernt too pleased! :) Im so glad I was courageous enough to capture it though – ill post it today actually, its from last year but hey, what the hell. Its to cold up here to take new pictures.

  2. Robert thanks for sharing your similar experience. I checked out the photo you mentioned of the boy in Venice. Photographing kids can be a sticky subject, especially this day and time.

    I am not sure if I am going to take you up on your challenge to photograph this building in the fog. First of all, that would require waking up quite early :) Second, I am not sure if I should tempt fate once again. As I said, this place is in a bad part of town.

    Keep on shooting and drawing those weird looks. The more strange the looks you draw, the better the image will be. :)

  3. Part of the attraction in your photos is the great appreciation of light casting shadows.
    I know what Robert Keast means about the strange looks you get, as if you were about to abduct the child; or steal someone’s soul. Many people do not like to be photographed. I photograph for reference in paintings. I’m interested in portraiture or figure painting but I don’t want stiff poses like you get when someone knows their picture is being taken. I sometimes hold my camera in my lap on the bus and take random photos (that is I’m not obviously looking at the LCD screen nor looking through the view finder). Some turn out and some dont, which is the beauty of digital photography. Sometimes I ask; some people are quite willing, specially if you tell them what you use the photos for and if you promise to send them a copy. I do this most often when I want to take photos of children.

    When I was teaching drawing and painting at college level, I told my students that I wasn’t teaching them how to draw and paint, but rather, how to see. Looking, in this very diverse world, is one of the most personally satisfying pleasures.
    Keep shooting, folks.
    Kay


Leave a Reply

