My motivation

By: Darrell Klein

Feb 23 2007

Category: photography

6 Comments

Photo:  Garbage Truck – Jackson, TN

There are several things that motivate me with my photography.  These motivators are both internal and external.  I was thinking about these motivators recently and here is what I came up with.

One of the internal motivators is simply improvement.  I am pushed to continue on with my photography in hopes that I will continue to improve.  I get a huge boost by looking at where I started and comparing that to where I feel I am today.  This gives me lots of hope as to where I am headed with my photography and inspires me to keep shooting.

This blog has been a motivator as well.  I consider this to be both and internal and external motivator.  I am no different from most other photographers.  Like them, I enjoy having my worked viewed and hopefully enjoyed by others.  This blog has been the best vehicle I have used to accomplish this so far.  Blogging has given me an extra reason to get out and shoot more and it could not have come at a better time for me.

Yet another motivating factor is the acceptance of my peers.  I am a member of a local photography group known as the Society of Nashville’s Artistic Photographers or SNAP for short.  At a recent show, I received compliments from several of my fellow show participants on the photographs that I had submitted.  Specifically they commented on how I had improved from the show held the prior year.  The fact that photographers that I had much respect for took the time to let me know how they felt about my work was a huge motivator for me.  This fostered a lot of positive energy.

These are but a few of the things that motivate me photographically.  All in all, I think these are positive motivators.  However, I do feel that there are negative motivators out there for photographers.  I will talk about one such negative motivator in a future post.  Stay tuned and get out there and shoot.

6 comments on “My motivation”

  1. You commented on one of my shots, so I came to see what do you do. You write the pure truth! My motivation is completely the same that you’ve put into words here. I also compare my shots to other people’s shots over some time intervals to see how far behind I am from the people I follow photographically. Gives a nice feeling if I from time to time outskill the one that I once saw as being way ahead of me. It’s all about fun & improvement to me.

    Also, how weird that I previewed the SNAP link with a thing called Snap.

    And you’ve got some good shots here. I’ll check back every once and a while to see what you come up with.

  2. Hey man, thanks for the comment, glad you liked what you saw, how do you put your borders on your photos? its something i’ve never managed to nail…

  3. Thanks for the comment fipsut. I try to tell only the truth. However, I think you may have misunderstood me a little bit. I try not to compare myself to other photographers. That’s not to say that I am always successful. I do have a very competitive side but I try to keep it out of my photography. I was mainly talking about gaining the respect of my fellow photographers and not through competition but by recognition from them.

    P.S. – I plan to keep checking in on your blog as well. Hey, if the competition is what works for you, by all means, stick with it. It seems to be doing the job as you have some nice images on your site.

  4. Haha, and you may have misunderstood my ‘also’. Not ‘also’, as ‘like you – me too’, but more like ‘you’re right, but besides that I do this’. If you catch my drift.

    Competition. Doesn’t sound right. It’s not like I don’t want other people to improve. I try to aid that any way possible. Ah, the hell with it, why split a hair? Instead I’m going to see what SNAP has to offer :)

  5. […] have previously discussed how blogging has helped motivate me to take more photos and take photography more seriously.  […]

  6. Like you say there are many things that motivate a person and compliments is a great one. Acceptance by our peers and those we respect has a huge impact on our beliefs and actions.

    Phoenix

    http://www.easymotivationalstrategies.com


Leave a Reply

