I Sold Out

By: Darrell Klein

Feb 07 2007

Category: photography

1 Comment

photo:  Color TV – Tucson, AZ

“Well, I sold out and went digital with my photography.”  I recently heard a photographer make this statement.  It is not the first time I have heard a photographer make this statement or one with similar meaning.  I just don’t understand why going digital is perceived as a bad thing by some photographers.

I have read where some photographers think that digital makes things too easy and somehow cheapens the output that is produced through its processes.  For thousands of years, people have developed and used tools to make the tasks they perform easier and or more efficient.  Photography is no different.  I was not around then but I can only imagine that the onset of 35mm cameras was met with much the same criticism from the larger format photographers.

I am certainly not putting down anyone that still shoots film.  If that works for you, who am I to tell you that you are wrong for doing so (not that I would).  I used to shoot film myself and developed my own film and prints in a black and white darkroom when I was in high school.  It was an experience that I still draw from to this day and I am appreciative for the opportunity.  However, I know that at least for me, digital has made things far more efficient thereby speeding up my development as a photographer.  For this and many other reasons, I am thankful for the opportunity to be a photographer in the digital age.

One comment on “I Sold Out”

  1. such a great post and so true…. as with any kind of art form you will always the old school purists who think the original way is the only way.

    Photography like art is a form of one’s independant expression, and if you prefer digital, more power to you!

    I love digital as it gives me immediately results and more flexibility to edit immediatly in Photoshop


Leave a Reply

