Too much negativity?

By: Darrell Klein

Feb 01 2007

Category: photography

2 Comments

One of the first posts I made on this very young blog was about how I prefer photographing subjects that are old and rough around the edges as opposed to something that is shiny and new.  I enjoy trying to find beauty in that which seems to have no beauty whatsoever.  Some might argue that I do not succeed but I see something different in these subjects.

Even I would have a difficult time finding any beauty in the image above of the two shopping carts that were dumped into the Ohio River in Louisville, KY.  It is images just like this one that have me wondering if I am a negative photographer.  Could that explain my fondness for the “ugly” subject matter?  For the time being, I am going to say no.  I do take photos that at least some people would find some beauty in.  This photo is more of an extreme case.

I am not knocking people that take photos of flowers.  I have done it myself.  However, for me there is more of a challenge in finding beauty that is not so obvious.  That challenge is what keeps my creative juices flowing.  Maybe I should not worry about the negativity that could come across with my choice of subjects.  If it works for me, I should probably stop questioning it and get back to taking photos.

2 comments on “Too much negativity?”

  1. It may be an “ugly” scene, but I think it’s a compelling photo. Not traditionally beautful, but not what I’d call ugly or repulsive either. Just…interesting. It’s actually difficult to tell what it is; if I hadn’t read your post, I’m not sure how long it would have taken me to identify.

  2. Thanks for the comment. I am not sure that I am drawn to ugly images by default but I certainly don’t shy away from them. As I said in the post, I think it is the challenge of making a compelling image out of something the would be considered ugly by many people.


Leave a Reply

