Maybe there is something there

By: Darrell Klein

Jan 30 2007

Category: photography

1 Comment

photo:  Elbows on the Ohio by Darrell Klein 

I often find myself coming back from a trip where I have taken lots of photos but not feeling too good about the number of good shots or “keepers” that I am returning with.  Many times, it is only after I have had time to look over the images several times that I start to see something that I like. 

I have a hard time understanding this.  There was something that made me take notice and stop to take the photo in the first place.  Why is it that I don’t see that same something when I review the images back at home? 

The above image is one taken on a recent trip to Louisville, KY.  When I returned from that trip, I was quite disappointed with the shots I had taken while there.  It has only been in the last few weeks that I have started liking what I see when I look at those photos.  Hopefully, I will be able to dig out more “keepers” as I continue looking back on the shots from this trip.  I will also look back at some previous trips to see what catches my eye now after having some more time to digest the images.

One comment on “Maybe there is something there”

  1. […] They just aren’t quite there yet.  Or, maybe I am not there yet.  As mentioned in an earlier post, I sometimes “discover” some of my best shots after taking some time to really look at […]


Leave a Reply

